top of page

The Forgotten Sin
a ritual space for melancholia

created and directed by Holly M Wright

original music by John King

A spatial exploration of the eighth sin, melancholia, investigating phenomenological story telling methods through intentional engagement of the five senses.


Before there were Seven Deadly Sins there were Eight Evil Thoughts. Seven of them became the deadly sins, all closely tied to excess: lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy, and pride. The eighth, however, almost defies translation. Most accurately, it is called “melancholia” or sadness in which one chooses to wallow, another type of excess. This sadness could be self- pity; negative thoughts regarding another’s success; “despond” or an overwhelming outlook of gloom, despair, or hopelessness; ennui; apathy; inertia; existential boredom. It is distinct from what we understand today as clinical depression in that there is an active choice to languish in these feelings.


This experience is a space for acknowledgement, indulgence, and an unravelling of self.

This is a one-on-one experience.

Work Sample

Duration: 30 minutes

24th and 26th of August, 2022

Gilmorehill, 9 University Ave, Glasgow

bottom of page